UroGators: Alumni Society

Thomas Stringer_MCM_6471

The UroGators of the University of Florida (UF) Department of Urology serve to support and promote the advancement of urologic education for residents and members, to enhance fellowship and communication between current and former residents, fellows and faculty, and to serve as advisors who support UF’s Department of Urology.

Formally established in 2007, UroGators represents a rebirth of the Urology Foundation fostered by former division chief Dr. David Drylie in the early 1970s. UroGators was formed under the auspices and support of the newly formed (2005) Department of Urology.

Since the establishment of UroGators, we have partnered with the Office of Continuing Medical Education events both at UF and away from campus as well as hosting the annual reception at the American Urological Association Meeting . Additionally, each spring we award membership plaques to graduating residents at a formal ceremony. Through the generosity of the Department, we have grown interest and participation every year.

Picture2UroGators members continue to make significant contributions in our field throughout the country and the world. As alumni, we are afforded a multitude of professional and personal opportunities as a result of our training. Hence, UroGators sustainability is contingent upon your generosity and philanthropic gifts. We will continue to serve in our role as patrons of the Resident Education Fund. One such example is the establishment of the David M. Drylie, M.D.,Visiting Professorship which has been fully endowed in perpetuity through the generous giving of numerous UroGators.

I am honored, as your President, to represent a truly special group of professionals and friends who share a common past. I truly hope you find the UroGators Alumni Society meaningful and that you remain loyal supporters of UroGators as we continue to grow, adapt and remain relevant in your life and in the lives of the next generation of urologists trained at UF.

Thomas F. Stringer, M.D.
UroGators President
Associate Chair, Department of Urology

Top of Page