UF Urology at the 2022 Annual Meeting of the Florida Urological Society

doctors merheb, massari and krishingner
Pictured left to right: Dr. Samir Merheb, Dr. Michael Massari & Dr. Austin Krishingner

The University of Florida Department of Urology residency training program earned top awards at the 74th Annual Meeting of the Florida Urological Society (FUS) in Miami Beach, FL, September 1–4, 2022.

The meeting traditionally features two competitions between residents from across the state. Both contests are intended to generate robust, spirited academic debate among rising urologists. UF PGY3 resident Dr. Samir Merheb won first place in the Milton Coplan Pyelogram Hour, a resident case presentation competition, on September 2nd. On September 4th, PGY3 residents Drs. Austin Krishingner and Michael Massari placed first and second place, respectively, in the Victor Politano Resident Debates.

The Department of Urology is tremendously proud of the PGY3 class and grateful for the academic enrichment provided by this year’s FUS meeting.

Christopher E. Bayne, MD
Assistant Professor
Division of Pediatric Urology
Associate Residency Program Director

The scientific program of the Florida Urological Society’s Annual Meeting provides attendees with cutting edge and state of the art updates in Urologic care. Speakers at the meeting are recognized as the leaders in the field based upon clinical practice and research efforts.  The Department of Urology is proud to have six faculty members invited to educate attendees based upon their expertise.

Dr. Padraic O’Malley presented “Intraluminal Therapy for Upper Tract Urothelial Care”, highlighting the importance of strategies to decrease bladder tumor recurrences.  Dr. Christopher Bayne presented “Single Port Robotic Surgery in the Pediatric Population”, demonstrating his experience in a surgical technique offered at few centers nationally.  Dr. Kevin Campbell presented “Surgical Management for Male Infertility”, focused on appropriate patient selection and expected outcomes. Dr. Campbell also moderated the Andrology and Sexual Medicine session.  Dr. Russell Terry presented “Mini Percutaneous Nephrolithotomy”, describing the technique and benefits for this new surgical approach.  Dr. Paul Crispen moderated the Renal and Upper Tract Urothelial Carcinoma session.  Dr. Vincent Bird moderated the Urolithiasis and Endourology session.

We are fortunate to have leaders in the field offer care to our patients and educate our trainees.

Paul L. Crispen, MD
Associate Professor
Pete and Carolyn Newsome Urologic Oncology Professorship
Associate Chair of Clinical Affairs
Surgical Director of UF Health Operating Rooms


Florida’s Leading Academic Urology Program

Rated as High Performing Urology Program

Rated as High Performing in Prostate Cancer Surgery