8th Annual UF Department of Urology/UroGators Alumni Society Reception – New Orleans, LA

The 8th Annual UF Department of Urology/UroGators Alumni Society reception was held in New Orleans on Monday night May 18th. Roughly 120 of our former residents and fellows, along with faculty and friends from institutions around the country, joined us for New Orleans food, drink and live music. The venue had a very “Gatory” feeling thanks for the decorative efforts of Jean Bennett and Ronda Patton.  A special tribute was made to our faculty, residents and alumni in attendance. Additionally, those that have generously gifted the Department and the UroGators Alumni Society were individually recognized. Ted Kruljac, our colleague with the UF Health Office of Development, friend of our department and the UroGators Alumni Society received the honorary UroGators Award.   We appreciate his tireless work to promote our department and our alumni group.

The Department is in a unique position for the growth of its educational, research and clinical missions. These mission tracts are dependent on the enhanced collaborative relationships with the College of Medicine and the departments within the college, as well as our referring doctors and UroGators Alumni in every corner of the country. The next annual event is the David M. Drylie Visiting Professorship combined with the UroGators Alumni football weekend November 5-7, 2015. We are honored to have Dr. Shlomo Raz, from UCLA, as our 3rd annual visiting professor. Please be on the lookout for those notices and plan to be part of the celebration and your heritage.

Thomas F. Stringer, MD, FACS
Interim Chair
Medical Director
Department of Urology
University of Florida

Ranked as the #32 urology program in the nation by U.S. News & World Report